MAPS 6-12 Teacher of the Year

Justin Burton

Marquette Area Public Schools is pleased to announce that our “6-12 Teacher of the Year” for 2021-2022 is Justin Burton.  Mr. Burton is an Industrial Technology Teacher at Bothwell Middle School. His colleague wrote, “Justin Burton is a wonderful example of a caring, compassionate, patient, and creative teacher.  While his area (Industrial Technology) may lend itself to that creativity more than some academic areas, it’s his relationships with students that really set him as an example of an excellent teacher.  Justin takes time to work with students who need additional support or individualized instruction.  He accommodates kids who struggle in other areas and helps them find success in ‘the shop.’  He encourages them and gives them opportunities to shine.  Students consistently say that Mr. Burton is kind, always willing to help them, encouraging, and has helped them learn even when they were struggling.”


2020-21 Tom Seeke (Marquette Senior High School)
2018-19 Scot Stewart (Bothwell Middle School)
2017-18 Lesley Addison (Bothwell Middle School)

2016-17 Patti Karwoski (Superior Hills Elementary)
2015-16 Erin Donovan (Superior Hills Elementary)
2014-15 Sara Moyle (Bothwell Middle School)
2013-14 Matthew Brintlinger (Marquette Alternative High School)
2012-13 Kristina O'Connor & Blythe Raikko (Marquette Senior High School)
2011-12 Cynthia DePetro (Marquette Alternative High School)
2010-11 Karla McCutcheon (Marquette Senior High School)
2009-10 Cheryl Emich-Leete (Sandy Knoll Elementary)
2008-09 Lisa Jahnke (Marquette Senior High School)
2007-08 Toni Landick (Bothwell Middle School)
2006-07 Mary Stevenson (Marquette Senior High School)
2005-06 Carolyn Northey (Bothwell Middle School)
2004-05 Fred Cole (Marquette Senior High School)
2003-04 Christopher Standerford (Marquette Senior High School)
2002-03 Marianne Evans (Graveraet Intermediate School) & Karen Bacula (Bothwell Middle School)
2001-02 Marsha Page (Vandenboom Elementary School)
2000-01 Ellen Zaki (Marquette Senior High School)
1999-00 Janis Shier Norton (Marquette Senior High School & Bothwell Middle School)
1997-98 Cheryl Gustafson (Bothwell Middle School)
1996-97 Iris Katers (Graveraet Intermediate School)
1995-96 Sue Szczepanski (Whitman Elementary)
1994-95 Sharon Green (Graveraet Intermediate School)
1993-94 Mary McKinney (Bothwell Middle School)
1992-93 Bev Humpula (Bothwell Middle School)
1991-92 Jill Nelson (Fisher Elementary)
1990-91 Jim Brogan (Marquette Senior High School)
1989-90 Ruth Murphy (Fisher Elementary)